You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Emotional Isaako sweeps Dolphins awards

Jamayne Isaako has capped a stunning season in the NRL by being named the first winner of the Arthur Beetson Medal as Player of the Year for the Dolphins.

In front of 550 guests at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Isaako was a stand-out winner of the award that was presented by Beetson’s grandson Jack.

The awards have been coming thick and fast for Isaako, who last week became just the seventh person in 116 years of rugby league history to claim both the NRL’s top try scorer and top point-scorer award in the one season.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Dolphins NRL (@dolphinsnrl)

The last was Mal Meninga in 1990.

Isaako finished ahead of lock Ray Stone, fullback Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Jeremy Marshall King and Kodi Nikorima on the official tally.

It took the total to four separate awards for the Dolphins’ winger on the one night.

Predictably Isaako won the Player’s Player award judged by his teammates, with Tabuai-Fidow and Jarrod Wallace closest behind him.

Isaako also took the trophy for the Most Consistent Player in a year where he did not miss a match, and the award as the Best Back.

Mark Nicholls was named Best Forward for his wholehearted effort this season both on and off the field.

Isaiya Katoa was named the Rookie of the Year after making his NRL debut in the Dolphins’ amazing round one victory over the Roosters and playing 22 matches, a stunning mark for a teenager.

Euan Aitken received the Academic award for his continued study in a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) while managing his time as a full-time professional player.

Tabuai-Fidow was named the Kings’ Fan Player of the Year.

Dolphins’ Game Development Manager Shane Morris was named Club Person of the Year for his work promoting the Dolphins and rugby league in general.

Morris and his team have travelled more than 25,000 kilometres this year, involving more than 30,000 participants in game development, and visiting more than 200 junior clubs and 241 schools.

2023 Dolphins award winners:

  • Adventure Kings Fan-Voted MVP - Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow
  • Academic Award - Euan Aitken
  • Rookie of the Year - Isaiya Katoa
  • Best Back - Jamayne Isaako
  • Best Forward - Mark Nicholls
  • Most Consistent - Jamayne Isaako
  • Players' Player - Jamayne Isaako
  • Club Person of the Year - Shane Morris
  • Arthur Beetson Medal Player of the Year - Jamayne Isaako
Acknowledgement of Country

The Dolphins respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Premier Partners

View All Partners