You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Maroons Game II team confirmed

Xavier Coates, Jeremiah Nanai and Moeaki Fotuaika will make their return to the State of Origin arena after playing their way back into Queensland Maroons jerseys.

Maroons coach Billy Slater today confirmed the trio had earned their spots in the 17 for Game II in Brisbane on June 21.

Injuries to Jai Arrow, Tom Gilbert and Selwyn Cobbo presented opportunities for players from outside the Game I team to work their way into the side for the Suncorp Stadium clash. 

Coates, Nanai and Fotuaika did exactly that, with the trio putting in strong performances for their respective National Rugby League clubs in recent weeks to earn their selection for the Maroons. 

For Coates, it will be his first Origin game since the opening match of the 2022 series in Sydney, where injury unfortunately cut short his time on the field. 

Nanai played an important role in last year’s series, while Gold Coast Titans forward Fotuaika represented Queensland in all three 2021 matches after making his Origin debut the previous year. 

The sole Maroons newcomer is Caboolture Snakes junior Corey Horsburgh, who has played his way into the extended squad on the back of his consistent form with the Canberra Raiders.

AJ Brimson has been named 18th man after his excellent return from injury for the Titans. 

Queensland Maroons Game II squad

Number Name Team
1. Reece Walsh Brisbane Broncos
2. Xavier Coates Melbourne Storm
3. Valentine Holmes North Queensland Cowboys
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow The Dolphins
5. Murray Taulagi North Queensland Cowboys
6. Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C) Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
8. Lindsay Collins Sydney Roosters
9. Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui Gold Coast Titans
11. David Fifita Gold Coast Titans
12. Jeremiah Nanai North Queensland Cowboys
13. Patrick Carrigan Brisbane Broncos
14. Harry Grant Melbourne Storm
15. Thomas Flegler Brisbane Broncos
16. Reuben Cotter North Queensland Cowboys
17. Moeaki Fotuaika Gold Coast Titans
18. AJ Brimson Gold Coast Titans
19. Corey Horsburgh Canberra Raiders

Media conference: Billy Slater on Game II selections

Acknowledgement of Country

The Dolphins respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Premier Partners

View All Partners