You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Our History

The Dolphins have a rich history beginning in 1947 that has led to an NRL berth in 2023.

1947 – The Redcliffe Peninsula Rugby League Club club is founded, in an effort to promote the game of rugby league in the Peninsula area. A meeting of interested parties on February 27 in that year made the formation of the club a reality and the first office bearers were elected.

The first club unofficial club emblem – or at least nickname – was the ‘Shellgrit’, no doubt spawned by the abundance of shell grit on the peninsula’s beaches.

The club begins its history in the Sandgate Suburban League. Under-17 and reserve grade teams win the grand finals in their debut year.

The original colours were gold and then blue, before maroon and white was set upon in 1952. This would morph into the traditional dark red and white that was the genesis of the Dolphins’ NRL colours of red, white and gold.

1948 A Grade Team
1948 A Grade Team

1960 – Redcliffe is officially accepted into the Brisbane Rugby League premiership, with the club known as ‘The Seagulls’.

1962 – Redcliffe wins its first Brisbane Rugby League title, the reserve grade premiership.

1965 – Redcliffe triumph - winning their first Brisbane Rugby League first grade premiership. A young player from Roma named Arthur Beetson stars before being enticed to Sydney to become an international and legend of the game.

Arthur Beetson playing for the Redcliffe Dolphins.
Arthur Beetson playing for the Redcliffe Dolphins.

1968 – The club takes on the name that has made it famous across Queensland, Australia and now the globe – The Dolphins.

1981 – Beetson returns to captain-coach the Dolphins, with the team falling short in the BRL Grand Final.

1994 – The Dolphins begin a golden age by winning the Brisbane Rugby League Premiership.

1996 – The Dolphins again win the Brisbane Rugby League premiership, and also enter the new state-wide Queensland Cup competition.

1997 – The Dolphins’ magic double – they win both the Brisbane Rugby League competition and secure the Queensland Cup title for the first time.

2000 – The Dolphins win the Queensland Cup Grand Final.

2002 – The Dolphins are Queensland Cup champions again.

2003 – Another Grand Final triumph makes it three Queensland Cup trophy wins in four seasons.

2006 – The Dolphins again win the Queensland Cup.

2018 – The Dolphins take out the Queensland Cup again, now known as the Intrust Super Cup.

2021 – The Dolphins are granted the licence to be the 17th NRL team.

Anthony Murphy, Bob Jones and Terry Reader with the Dolphins Bid Book
Anthony Murphy, Bob Jones and Terry Reader with the Dolphins Bid Book

Redcliffe Dolphins Representative Players
Australian Representatives
Arthur Beetson

Bob Gehrke

Brad Tessmann

Brent Tate

Bryan Niebling

Chris Close

Dane Carlaw

Dane Gagai

Dave Brown

Dave Trewhella

David Shillington

Greg Conescu

Greg Oliphant

Henry Holloway

John Ribot

Ken McCrohon

Mark Murray

Michael Crocker

Petero Civoniceva

Ray Higgs

Stephen Crear

Tony Currie

Wally Fullerton-Smith

Australian Representative Coaches
Frank Stanton

Arthur Beetson

Queensland Representatives (including State of Origin)
Bob Gerhke

Steve Crear

Tony Obst

Trevor Harken

Peter Leis

Robert Orchard Snr

Rod Halley

Ian Thinee

Chris Anderson

Steve Bullow

Ron Raper

Brian Gardiner

Richard Poulsen

Mark Murray

Trevor Benson

Ian Pearce

David Moffett

Arthur Beetson

Mitch Brennan

Wally Fullerton-Smith

Greg Oliphant

Terry Donnelly

Chris Close

Paul Khan

Shane Bernardin

John Ribot

Bryan Niebling

Greg Conescu

Jamie Sandy

Xavier Coates

Petero Civoniceva

Brent Tate

Acknowledgement of Country

The Dolphins respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Principal Partner

Premier Partners

View All Partners